Thursday , November 14 2019
Home / Federal Politics / Queensland, South Australian and West Australian Senate teams finalised

Queensland, South Australian and West Australian Senate teams finalised

Labor only won a single seat, for newcomer Nita Green.

The party’s Chris Ketter was relegated down the ticket and didn’t make the cut at the ballot box.

“My belief in the Australian Labor Party, its values, and its commitment to delivering a better way of life for all Australians is undiminished, and I will continue my involvement with the party of which I have been a member for more than three decades,” he said in a statement.

Malcolm Roberts returns to Parliament for One Nation, after losing his seat when the High Court found he was a dual citizen and thus had been ineligible for election in 2016.

And the Greens’ Larissa Waters has held onto her seat.

Independent Fraser Anning and LNP veteran Ian Macdonald did not make the cut.


South Australians will be represented by two new faces in the Senate when Parliament returns.

Liberals Anne Ruston and David Fawcett retain their seats and are joined by freshman Alex Antic.

On Labor’s side, incumbent Alex Gallacher will return with newcomer Marielle Smith.

And Australian Greens senator Sarah Hanson-Young also keeps her seat.

“I will work bloody hard to make sure our state is not undermined by the anti-renewables, water-greedy agenda of the eastern states,” Senator Hanson-Young said in a statement.

Independent Tim Storer and Liberal Lucy Gichuhi were not returned.

The West Australian Senate seats were also decided on Tuesday.

Labor's Pat Dodson retained his WA Senate spot.

Labor’s Pat Dodson retained his WA Senate spot.Credit:Alex Ellinghausen

Liberal Matt O’Sullivan is the only new face among the six.

He joins Defence Minister Linda Reynolds and Slade Brockman on the government benches.

Labor’s Pat Dodson and Louise Pratt will also return, as will the Greens’ Jordon Steele-John.

One Nation’s Peter Georgiou – who joined the Senate in 2017 after Rod Culleton was found not to have been eligible for election – missed out.

Results for the three states will be formally declared on Wednesday.

Only the Victorian Senate results are yet to be decided, with all 151 House of Representatives seats now declared.


Most Viewed in Politics


About admin

Check Also

‘We saw it coming’: Former NSW fire chief says government was warned on bushfires

Former FRNSW Commissioner Greg Mullins as an RFS volunteer. “By that time what we’d predicted …