Wednesday , October 16 2019
Home / Sport / PFA award caps big few days for Ryan

PFA award caps big few days for Ryan

“We’ve sort of been close with our performances, just the results have not represented how we’d performed in the games.

“It all came together at the right time on Saturday and now coming into camp after the good start we had against Kuwait away, this is obviously a nice cherry on top to pick up at the start of camp.”

Ryan is just the second multiple winner of the award, ending the three-year reign of Brighton teammate Aaron Mooy.

“He mentioned it one of the days last week and just having a laugh about it,” Ryan said.


“He’s obviously been a deserving winner the last few seasons. It’s nice that I can take it off his hands this time around.”

As well as Mooy, other nominees for this year’s award were goalkeeper Danny Vukovic, ex-Wellington Phoenix striker Roy Krishna and Adelaide United great Isaias.

Ryan made history in 2015 as the first player to claim both the men’s player of the year award and the Harry Kewell Medal as Australia’s best under-23 men’s player.

That honour this year went to Perth Glory winger Chris Ikonomidis, who turned 24 in May.

Ikonomidis, who was part of Australia’s Asian Cup squad, is the second Glory player to win the Harry Kewell Medal after Nikita Rukavytsya claimed the inaugural medal in 2009.

Ryan and the rest of the Australian squad have now gathered in Canberra ahead of Thursday’s clash with Group B minnows Nepal before facing Taiwan in Kaohsiung on October 15.

2009 – Tim Cahill
2010 – Mark Schwarzer
2011 – Matt McKay
2012 – Brett Holman
2013 – Robbie Kruse
2014 – Mile Jedinak
2015 – Mat Ryan
2016 – Aaron Mooy
2017 – Aaron Mooy
2018 – Aaron Mooy
2019 – Mat Ryan


Most Viewed in Sport


About admin

Check Also

Dubious lifts for Sapphire en route to Coolmore

“His first run he came through and had a foot abscess¬†after that so it definitely …