Sunday , July 12 2020
Breaking News
Home / AFL / Garner succeeds Carey on Roos honour roll

Garner succeeds Carey on Roos honour roll

“I’m truly proud to be recognised by the AFLW players as their MVP,” Garner said.

“The AFLW competition has come so far in such a short space of time, all the players have put their heart and soul into performing, so for the cohort to value my contribution this highly is something I won’t forget.”

Fremantle’s Kiara Bowers scored the most courageous player award, ending Chelsea Randall’s three-year reign, polling 76 votes to edge out Carlton’s Katie Loynes on 73 votes and Isabel Huntington, from the Western Bulldogs, on 64 votes.

Melbourne star Daisy Pearce capped her return from having a baby to claim her third best captain award with 69 votes, ahead of Collingwood skipper Stephanie Chiocci on 44 votes and GWS Giants captain Alicia Eva on 42 votes.

St Kilda midfielder Georgia Patrikios won the best first-year player award, polling 173 votes to Carlton’s Grace Egan on 89 votes and Brisbane’s Catherine Svarc on 26 votes.


The AFLPA MVP is decided in a two-stage process with each player voting for three teammates they consider to be most valuable during the 2020 season, with each club’s votes tallied to form a 42-player list of nominees.

All players then vote in a 3-2-1 format for the nominees from the other clubs, not their own, with the highest vote-getter winning the award.

The AFLPA used a similar process to decide its other individual awards while the best 22 under-22 was decided by an AFLPA panel naming a squad, then fans voting for the final side.

Collingwood’s Chloe Molloy was named captain of the best 22 under-22 side and Prespakis vice captain.

“Thank you to the fans who voted and selected me as the captain of the inaugural 22 under-22 side, I am very grateful to be recognised,” she said.

“The squad is a reflection of where the game is heading and it’s exciting to think what these 22 players will be capable of in the coming AFLW seasons.

“Congratulations to those who have made the final team. If only we could combine for a game!”

About admin

Check Also

As it happened: Essendon Bombers, Melbourne Demons, West Coast Eagles and Fremantle Dockers score wins in round six

Essendon senior coach John Worsfold spoke to the media after the game and this is …