Monday , July 13 2020
Home / AFL / Tough decision on AFL ‘legend’

Tough decision on AFL ‘legend’

Two-time Brownlow medallist Greg Williams also wouldn’t look out of place on the legends table.

The three-club great took home the ‘Charlie’ in 1986 and 1994, captained Victoria in 1989, was a Norm Smith medallist in a Carlton premiership team in 1995 and was selected in the AFL/VFL Team of the Century in 1996 before his career was even over.

Gary Ablett snr during the 1994 season.

Gary Ablett snr during the 1994 season.

Williams’s premiership teammate Stephen Silvagni would also be among the names thrown around at the selection table.

Named full-back in the Team of the Century, “SOS” won two John Nicholls Medals in a Carlton team that included “Diesel”, Stephen Kernahan, Brett Ratten and Craig Bradley, and is regarded as one of the greatest defenders of all time.

Late Collingwood greats Bob Rose and Dick Lee could also be considered.

Rose, who passed away in 2003, was an inaugural Hall of Fame inductee in 1996, having won four Collingwood best-and-fairests in 10 seasons.

The Bob Rose statue, outside the Holden Centre.

The Bob Rose statue, outside the Holden Centre.Credit:Paul Rovere

Lee was also an inaugural Hall Of Fame inductee in 1996.

A three-time premiership player at the Pies, Lee won the league goalkicking award seven times, kicking 707 goals in 230 games.


Eligibility for legend status has long been controversial and Collingwood president Eddie McGuire revisited the topic last week when he was asked whether the AFL Commission and Hall Of Fame committee had “botched” Lou Richards’s potential legend status selection.

“Totally, totally. Lou Richards is a legend,” McGuire said on Footy Classified.

“[They] came up with a new category. Lou hated it, we put a statue out the front [of the Holden Centre].

“As far as Collingwood is concerned, we were completely snubbed for the team of the century, which was an insult and we’ve not forgotten that, and we haven’t forgotten Lou Richards either.”

Richards, a Hall of Fame member for his playing career at Collingwood, which included 1953 premiership captain, was instead made the inaugural lifetime achievement award winner in 2014 for his extraordinary contribution to the game over multiple fields of endeavour.


However, those from the Hall of Fame can only be elevated to legend status based on their playing or coaching career.

Seven Hall of Fame inductees will also be announced next month, including Simon Black who was inducted last year but couldn’t accept his award because he was filming Survivor.

The list of 2014 retirees who are eligible for Hall of Fame status includes Jonathan Brown, Lenny Hayes, Dean Cox and Darren Glass.

The new legend and Hall of Fame inductees will be named across four nights from June 1-4 on Fox Footy. A function will be held later in the year when guests are able to attend.

Most Viewed in Sport


About admin

Check Also

Was there a guilty party in the blame game?

So what actually happened and how can the game’s blame be apportioned, if at all? …