Sunday , November 29 2020
Home / AFL / VFL to press ahead without Demons

VFL to press ahead without Demons

AFL Victoria says it will press ahead with an August 1 start to the VFL season, despite Casey Demons withdrawing from the competition on Friday.

Just seven clubs remain in the revamped VFL competition – Box Hill, Coburg, Frankston, Sandringham, Williamstown, Werribee and Port Melbourne – and are expected to play each other once in a six-round season before a finals series.

Casey Demons have withdrawn from this year's VFL competition.

Casey Demons have withdrawn from this year’s VFL competition.Credit:Chris Hopkins

Clubs will return to full-contact training from Monday, July 13, before a season launch between Coburg and Sandringham.

“The health and safety of everyone involved in the VFL competition and the wider community remains paramount and we will continue to be led by the state government and relevant medical officials,” AFL head of state league competitions Tristan Salter said.

About admin

Check Also

West Coast consider rookie option for premiership Eagle

The club is basing any decisions in relation to Venables on medical assessments after ruling …