Tuesday , September 29 2020
Breaking News
Home / Latest News / Brumbies stars Faingaa, Kuridrani and Powell dropped for Waratahs clash

Brumbies stars Faingaa, Kuridrani and Powell dropped for Waratahs clash

Connal McInerney will pack down against NSW hooker Tom Horton after Faingaa, the 12-Test Wallaby, wasn’t included at all in the matchday 23.

Faingaa has scored four tries in five appearances this season.

White’s workload has been managed since his return to Australia and he will run out in Super Rugby for the first time since 2015.

Meanwhile, NSW youngster Joey Walton returns to the Waratahs starting side at outside-centre, while Ned Hanigan replaces Tom Staniforth in the second row.

Harry Johnson-Holmes has pipped Tetera Faulkner for the tight-head prop spot.

Coach Rob Penney has gone with an unchanged back line as his side looks to snap a five-game losing streak to the Brumbies stretching back to 2018. NSW fell short by a point against the Brumbies in round three.

The Waratahs are coming off consecutive wins against the Queensland Reds and Western Force and, if they win in the nation’s capital, it will all but lock up a finals spot.

Brumbies vs Waratahs @ GIO Stadium – Saturday 7.15pm

Brumbies (1-15): James Slipper, Connal McInerney, Allan Alaalatoa (c), Murray Douglas, Cadeyrn Neville, Lachlan McCaffrey, Will Miller, Pete Samu, Ryan Lonergan, Bayley Kuenzle, Tom Wright, Irae Simone, Solomone Kata, Andy Muirhead, Tom Banks.

Bench: Lachlan Lonergan, Scott Sio, Tom Ross, Darcy Swain, Rob Valetini, Tom Cusack, Nic White, Len Ikitau.

Waratahs (1-15): Tom Robertson, Tom Horton, Harry Johnson-Holmes, Ned Hanigan, Rob Simmons, Lachlan Swinton, Michael Hooper, Jack Dempsey, Jake Gordon, Will Harrison, Alex Newsome, Karmichael Hunt, Joey Walton, James Ramm, Jack Maddocks.

Bench: Robbie Abel, Angus Bell, Tetera Faulkner, Tom Staniforth, Hugh Sinclair, Mitch Short, Ben Donaldson, Lalakai Foketi.

Western Force vs Queensland Reds @ Cbus Super Stadium – Friday 7.05pm

Force (1-15): Pek Cowan, Andrew Ready, Kieran Longbottom, Jeremy Thrush, Ollie Atkins, Fergus Lee Warner, Kane Koteka, Brynard Stander, Ian Prior, Jono Lance, Brad Lacey, Richard Kahui, Kyle Godwin, Byron Ralston, Jake Strachan.

Bench: Heath Tessmann, Chris Heiberg, Tom Sheminant, Johan Bardoul, Ollie Callan, Nick Frisby, Jack McGregor, Henry Taefu.


Reds (1-15): Jack Straker, Brandon Paenga-Amosa, Taniela Tupou, Angus Blyth, Lukhan Salakaia-Loto, Liam Wright, Fraser McReight, Harry Wilson, Tate McDermott, James O’Connor, Filipo Daugunu, Hamish Stewart, Josh Flook, Jordan Petaia, Jock Campbell.

Bench: Josh Nasser, Harry Hoopert, Zane Nonggorr, Tuaina Taii Tualima, Angus Scott-Young, Moses Sorovi, Bryce Hegarty, Jack Hardy.

Sport newsletter

Sports news, results and expert commentary delivered straight to your inbox each weekday. Sign up here.

Most Viewed in Sport


About admin

Check Also

Lick your wounds and learn: Brawn’s advice to Hamilton

“That’s what I know the team will be doing. I know many of the people …