Saturday , October 24 2020
Breaking News
Home / AFL / Bombers youngster soars to best and fairest win

Bombers youngster soars to best and fairest win

“Jordan is an unassuming, determined and driven young man who is a wonderful teammate and has commanded the respect of the playing group, and especially fellow defenders. Since he arrived at the club, his work ethic and commitment to get the best out of himself has been obvious to all.


“He has worked closely alongside Michael Hurley and Adam Saad to further understand the game and hone his craft and we know that Jordan continually wants to improve and build his game. At only 21 years of age, there is much more improvement to come for Jordan which is really exciting.”

Dual best and fairest Zach Merrett finished second while rebounding defender Adam Saad was in the top three amid uncertainty about his future, with the backman out-of-contract.

“While this season has been disappointing from a win-loss ratio, we have a very exciting emerging group coming through, and that is reflected in our overall votes with Zach Merrett, Adam Saad, Kyle Langford, Andrew McGrath and Darcy Parish all placing as the top six placegetters behind Jordan.

“Jordan is a key member of this emerging group with a bright future ahead, so it is wonderful to see him being dually rewarded today for his terrific campaign this season.”

High-priced recruit Dylan Shiel snuck into the top 10, which had no room for veteran Michael Hurley.

The Bombers meanwhile confirmed on Sunday night that they had delisted Shaun McKernan, Josh Begley, Noah Gown, Mitch Hibberd and Kobe Mutch.

2020 Crichton Medal – Top 10

  1. Jordan Ridley (333 votes)
  2. Zach Merrett (308)
  3. Adam Saad (292)
  4. Kyle Langford (281)
  5. Andrew McGrath (270)
  6. Darcy Parish (263)
  7. Anthony McDonald-Tipungwuti (261)
  8. Devon Smith (253)
  9. Will Snelling (247)
  10. Dylan Shiel (239)

About admin

Check Also

AFL grand final live updates: Tigers, Cats square off at the Gabba

The Gabba is a very happy hunting ground for both teams. The Cats have won …